What are Oregon State Auto Insurance Laws?

In Oregon, it is illegal to drive without liability coverage. See ORS 806.010.

The minimum insurance a driver must have is:

  • Bodily injury and property damage liability
    • $25,000 per person;
    • $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others; and
    • $20,000 per crash for damage to others’ property.
  • Personal injury protection
    • $15,000 per person.
  • Uninsured motorist
    • $25,000 per person;  and
    • $50,000 per crash for bodily injury.

You must give your insurance policy number every time you register a vehicle, or when you buy a light vehicle trip permit.

Some vehicles aren’t required to have insurance. You can find those exemptions in ORS 806.020.

https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/insurance.aspx

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Leave a comment